Inglorious beasties

I started off this project with primary research. I got a real life cricket then drew it from memory, observation, with stick and ink, with pen and with pencil. I also had to focus on certain aspects such as the legs or arm. I looked at its leg. I also had to imagine the texture of the bug and try capture that on the page which was difficult. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

As you can see above some of the sketchbook work exploring the bug. I have used biro, pencil and ink to draw. I like drawings to look perfect so I don’t like this experimentation work. It was a great exercise however I don’t like what I’ve created. I am most pleased with my drawing from memory which is the pencil drawing. It has amazed me how much I could remember.

Leave a Reply

