My article

 – profile artist Britain –

Sadé Ford

TEXT BY: Angie Raymond

 What inspired your denim make up collection?

Denim has been around for so many years but it has also been used for absolutely everything from trousers to shirts to bags and even shoes! I’m passionate about make up so I thought why not incorporate it. I wanted to play on the idea that is had been used for everything.

 Do you prefer drug store or high-end make up?

I have to be honest and say high-end, in general anyway. I get so excited walking through beauty halls in department stores and I love brands like Dior and Bobbi Brown. However, my favourite mascara is No.7.

 Where are your favourite places to shop?

I love to shop at ASOS for staple items and Missguided or Boohoo for cheaper options. I love Office for shoes.

 If you had a £1000 to spend on make-up, what would you buy?

A whole load of make-up from high-end brands such as Dior, Bobbi Brown, Nars, Laura Mercier and YSL.

What’s your daily make up routine?

If I’m not leaving the house then no make-up but if I’m going out for the day I like to keep it simple and natural. Foundation, concealer, blush, mascara and lip balm or gloss.

Any advice for anyone looking to become a make-up artist?

Be as creative as you want! There are no wrongs when it comes to make-up especially when it’s a playful look. Start out by working on your favourite make up counter and learn from them. Really be into what you’re doing and enjoy it!

How would you describe your style?

I would describe my style as ‘open.’ I don’t tend to stick with certain styles; I pretty much buy whatever I like. I am always up to date with current trends which I look to for inspiration.

What do you do when you’re not working?

Hang out with my boyfriend, watch films and of course shop! I love shopping for clothes and new make-up I’m keen to try.

Who are your favourite make-up artists?

My favourite make-up artist has to be Lisa Eldridge because she covers such a huge variety of looks which she does so well. She is also part of the No.7 range in Boots which I love. I also love Peter Tindall for his great skill for prosthetics, he is very talented!

What beauty products can you not live without?

For Skincare: Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish and Boots Botanics sensitive face cream. For make-up  Estee Lauder Double wear foundation, Benefit Hoola Bronzer, Accessorize blush, No.7 Extravagant Mascara, and Korres lip butter.

Most memorable make-up faux pas?

Wearing black eye-liner all around my eyes. Ew!

How long have you been into make up?

For as long as I can remember. I remember my mum would let me raid her make up bag or should I say raid without her knowledge. I really started playing with it when I was 13.

“My must have items are: foundation, concealer, blush and mascara, because I think everything is perfect when your skin looks healthy and mascara helps with making your eyes look wide and awake. I love Estee Lauder Double wear and lip gloss. I love make up but I rarely experiment with it on myself. When I feel I need a touch up I have lipstick and concealer with me so I can add colour to my face through my lips and correct any under eye circles.“

Leave a Reply

